Ag-STEM Schools



"Key Elements to Justify the Value of an Agricultural Education Program" Ohio Dept. of Education, 3-23-2011

"Global Impact STEM School Draft Budget for FY 2014 - FY 2019"

"Developing the Dayton Region's Talent Base: A Bold Plan for Transforming STEM Education and Building a 21st Century Workforce" 8.19MB

"Global Impact STEM Academies: An Innovative New Approach to K-12 Education to Meet the World's Challenges"

"Not yet a household word" Ohio Farm Bureau Executive Vice President John C. (Jack) Fisher

"Meeting Ohio's Agbioresource Need: An Innovative and Sustainable Plan for a Cuttling-Edge School" (.pdf format) 10-2011 by OH State Sen. Chris Widener (R-Ottawa Hills)

"Ohio Agricultural Roadmap: Establishing a 25-year vision for Ohio's Agbioresource Sector" 9-2005, Ohio Farm Bureau, 3.559MB



Ohio Future Farmers of America Agricultural and Environmental Systems Career Field Pathways and Courses

OFFA Curriculum Website
OFFA Curriculum Analysis as of 5-29-2012

CSTVCIC Area Schools' Agriculture Curricula

"Agriculture and Environmental Systems: Career Field Technical Content Standards with Academic Content Standards in English Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies" 9-2008, Ohio Dept. of Education

"Quality Program Standards for Ohio's Agricultural and Environmental Systems Career Field Programs: A collaborative effort of Ohio Team Ag Ed" 10-5-2010



OFFA Districts

OFFA District Map

OFFA District 8 Counties: Holmes, Coshocton, Muskingum, Tuscarawas, Guernsey, Noble, Carroll, Harrison, Belmont, Monroe, Jefferson

OFFA District 3 Counties: Columbiana, Stark, Wayne, Medina, Summit, Portage, Mahoning, Trumbull, Ashtabula, Geauga, Lake, Cuyahoga

Area County School Districts

Carroll County: Brown Local, Carrollton Exempted Village, Conotton Valley Union Local, Edison Local, Minerva Local, Sandy Valley Local

Stark County: Alliance City, Canton City, Canton Local, Fairless Local, Jackson Local, Lake Local, Louisville City, Marlington Local, Massillon City, Minerva Local, North Canton City, Northwest Local, Osnaburg Local, Perry Local, Plain Local, Saqndy Valley Local, Tuscarawas Valley Local, Tuslaw Local

Tuscarawas County: Claymont City, Dover City, Fairless Local, Garaway Local, Harrison Hills City, Indian Valley Local, New Philadelphia City, Newcomerstown Exempted Village, Ridgewood Local, Sandy Valley Local, Strasburg-Franklin Local, Tuscarawas Valley Local

Vocational Technology School Members

Buckeye Career Center: Carrollton Exempted Village, Connotton Valley Union Local, East Holmes Local, Indian Valley Local, Newcomerstown Exempted Village, Tuscarawas Central Catholic, Claymont City, Dover City, Garaway Local, New Philadelphia City, Strasburg-Franklin Local, Tuscarawas Valley Local

Columbiana County Career & Technical Center: United Local, East Palestine City, Beaver Local, Wellsville Local, Crestview Local, Columbiana Exempted, Southern Local, Leetonia Exempted Village, Lisbon Exempted Village

Jefferson County Joint Vocational School: Steubenville City, Toronto City, Indian Creek Local, Buckeye Local, and Edison Local

Coshocton County Joint Vocational School: Coshocton City, Ridgewood Local, River View Local
Open Enrollment Schools: Newcomerstown Exempted Village, Indian Valley Local, Tri-Valley Local, Claymont City

R.G. Drage Career Technical Center: Brown Local, Fairless Local, Louisville City, Minerva Local, Northwest Local, Tuslaw Local
Additional Districts Served 2011-12 School Year: Canton City, Canton Local, Jackson Local, Lake Local, Marlington Local, Massillon City, North Canton City, Osnaburg Local, Perry Local, Plain Local, Sandy Valley Local

Belmont-Harrison Career Center: Barnesville Exempted Village, Bellaire City, Bellaire St. John Central, Bridgeport Exempted Village, Harrison Hills City, Martins Ferry City, Shadyside Local, St. Clairsville, Richland City, Union Local

Mahoning County Career & Technical Center (estimated): Austintown, Campbell City, Canfield Local, Lowellville Local, Jackson-Milton Local, Poland Local, South Range Local, Struthers City, Springfield Local, Western Reserve Local, West Branch Local, Sebring Local, Youngstown Cardinal Mooney Catholic

Maplewood Career Center: Crestwood Local, Field Local, Garfield Local, Mogadore Local, Ravenna City, Rootstown Local, Southeast Local, Streetsboro City, Waterloo Local, Windham Exempted Village

Portage Lakes Career Center: Coventry Local, Green Local, Manchester Local, Springfield Local

Wayne County Schools Career Center: Central Christian, Chippewa Local, Dalton Local, Green Local, Heritage Private, Norwayne Local, Northwestern Local, Orrville Local, Rittman Exempted Village, Southeast Local, Triway Local, Wooster City

Choffin Career & Technical Center: Youngstown City



"Program helps young farmers grow" (Incubator farm program) 5-7-2012 Courtesy NBC News

"Springfield (OH) South High School still possibility for STEM school: School would focus on agricultural sciences in the birthplace of 4-H" 3-25-2012 Courtesy Springfield News Sun

"Ohio could get specialized middle, high schools on farming" 2-12-2012 Courtesy Columbus Dispatch

"Buckeye Career Center will end equine program" 3-28-2012 Courtesy Dover/New Philadelphia Times-Reporter

"Radius Hospitality of Canton picked to run Atwood Lake Resort" 4-10-2012 Courtesy Dover/New Philadelphia Times-Reporter



Global Impact Stem Academies

OH State Sen. Chris Widener

Carroll County Commissioners

Warren Township Community Center (Tuscarawas County)

Atwood Lake

Buckeye Career Center (New Philadelphia)

11-12th Grade Ag Programs

Part-Time Adult Education

Kent State University - Tuscarawas Campus

Potential Agribusiness B.S. Degree

10-10-2011 Faculty Council Meeting Unapproved Minutes (see p.11)

College Tech Prep

Agriculture and Environmental Systems

Tuscarawas Valley Local School District

Ohio Farm Bureau Federation

Ohio State University Extension

Carroll County
Tuscarawas County